When Paash was arrested

From Amarjit Chandan’s biography of his father Gopal Singh Chandan:

In August 1971, a Naxalite leader, Darshan Dosanjh murdered Makha Ram, a dalit munshi in the local brick kiln and snatched his wallet, gold ring and watch as trophies. Dosanjh would exhort Pash ( 1950-1988 ) and myself to become ‘whole-timers’. I jumped on the bandwagon while Pash was arrested unawares and implicated in the murder case and later acquitted. I was declared a proclaimed offender for editing and publishing an underground magazine Dastavez (The Document). I was arrested in August 1971 and tried in the court held in prison. I underwent sentence passed on me and was released two years later.

Leave a Reply

